En Garde!

This site is dedicated to the historical adventures of sword-wielding heroes: in short, swashbucklers! Here your host, Lawrence Ellsworth, posts news and reviews of swashbuckler stories, movies, and games, provides previews and historical notes for his books, both available and forthcoming, plus links to reviews and articles for further reading.

We hope to make swashbucklingadventure.net your go-to site for all things swashbuckling!

The Musketeers Cycle: New translations of Alexandre Dumas’s classic Musketeers novels by Lawrence Ellsworth, published by Pegasus Books.

Blood Royal

Book Four in the Musketeers Cycle, the exploits of d’Artagnan and his comrades to save King Charles I from execution, and themselves from Mordaunt, the son of Milady! Available now in hardcover, ebook, and audiobook formats!

Twenty Years After

Book Three in the Musketeers Cycle, continuing the adventures of d’Artagnan and his comrades Athos, Porthos, and Aramis in the years of a French rebellion and the English Civil War. Available now in hardcover, ebook, and audiobook formats!

The 3 Muskateers

The Three Musketeers

Book One in the Musketeers Cycle, the classic tale in an acclaimed new translation, illustrated and fully annotated! Available now in hardcover, trade paperback, and ebook formats.

Lawrence Ellsworth

The Red Sphinx

Book Two in the Musketeers Cycle, Lawrence Ellsworth’s reconstruction and translation of Alexandre Dumas’s lost sequel to The Three Musketeers. Available in hardcover, trade paperback, ebook, and audiobook formats.

The Rose Knight’s Crucifixion

Lawrence Ellsworth’s two-part parallel novel to Dumas’s The Three Musketeers, telling the tale of hunchback Louis d’Astarac’s quest for the hidden secrets of the Rosicrucians, crossing paths with Richelieu, Milady de Winter, and Aramis. Volume 1, The Three Mystic Heirs, and volume 2, The Three Monks of Tears, are available in both ebook and trade paperback formats.